Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board supervises the general policy and strategy of APX and provides advice to the Management Board. The nature of the company and the required expertise of the Supervisory Board members are reflected in the composition profile of the Supervisory Board. At present, the Supervisory Board consists of five members. The members step down according to a predetermined retirement rota.
The Supervisory Board has drawn up regulations that govern how Directors must function.

Mr J.B.M. Ten Berge

Mr Ten Berge started his career at Exxon Chemicals. In 1985 he continued working for Kemira, where he held amongst others the position of Managing Director of the Dutch fertilisers’ plants. In 1997 Mr Ten Berge joined Eneco Energie and was appointed member of the Management Board in 1998 being responsible for mergers, acquisitions, regulatory affairs and strategy. During this period Eneco grew significantly, partly due to major acquisitions. As per 1 January 2007 Mr Ten Berge stepped down from this position. Additional former functions included member of the MB of EnergieNed, member of the SB of Kema and member of the Supervisory Board of ENDEX. As per June 2007 Mr Ten Berge has been appointed Secretary General of Union of the Electricity Industry EURELECTRIC.
Mr Ten Berge studied chemistry at Heidelberg College in Ohio and University of Utrecht. He obtained a Master’s degree in chemistry followed by a Master’s degree in Business Administration at Delft University.

Mr J.M. Kroon

Mr Kroon has been TenneT B.V.’s President and Chief Executive Officer since 1 January 2002, having previously, from 1997 to 2002, held the position of Managing Director of Hooge Huys Verzekeringen N.V., part of the Utrecht-based SNS Reaal Insurance Group, where in 1999 he was appointed Deputy Chair of the Executive Board of SNS Reaal Insurance.
Having read aeronautical and aerospace engineering at Delft University of Technology, Mr Kroon went on to complete his Master’s in Business Administration at Rochester University/Erasmus University in Rotterdam. His career first took off at Fokker Aircraft N.V., where he held a variety of posts including that of Vice President for Marketing. He then transferred, first to Holec N.V. as Director for Marketing & Sales of the Traction Division, then to the SNS Reaal Insurance Group.

Mr G.A.J. Dubbeld

Mr Dubbeld is Chief Financial Officer of Eneco. He joined Eneco in 2002 and started in his role in 2011, prior to which he was the Managing Director Eneco Energy Trade from 2007 to 2011. Mr Dubbeld is also a Member of the Supervisory Board of Stedin B.V.
He holds a Master of Economics degree from Erasmus University Rotterdam.

Mr P. Aartsen

Mr Aartsen is a Member of the Executive Board of BinckBank since 2006 until 22 April 2014, and is responsible for company’s Professional Services and Able B.V. Prior to his post at BinckBank, he was Head of European Securities Clearing and Vice President at Deutsche Bank in London and Amsterdam and has held various positions at KAS Bank.
Mr Aartsen holds a Master of Economics degree from Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam.

Mr D. Dobbeni

Mr Dobbeni began his career at Belgonucléaire, and was subsequently appointed project engineer at Intercontrol, a French company specialising in control equipment for oil rigs and nuclear power stations. In 1977, he joined Laborelec, a Belgian electricity laboratory. He left that company in 1997 as Chief Officer Production and joined Electrabel as head of the Generation and Transmission Planning Department. At that time, he was already preparing intensively for the creation of the transmission system operator and, from 1997 to 2001, served as a member of the board of CPTE. He joined the organisation that was put in place in 1999 to prepare the creation of Elia (June 2001) and served as Chief Officer Energy Movements from 1999 to 2003, when he was appointed CEO and chairman of the Executive Committee of Elia. In that same year, he was also appointed chairman of the Steering Committee of ETSO (European Transmission System Operators). Previously, he served as chairman of the ETSO Task Force, responsible for the financial compensation mechanism between the TSOs for cross-border trade between the EU Member States. During his career, he played an active role in various committees for the Electric Power Research Institute, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, UCTE and the European Commission.
During their General Meeting on 24th of June 2005 the ETSO members appointed him chairman of ETSO for a term of two years. In 2006 the Board of Directors unanimously appointed Daniel Dobbeni chairman of Synergrid, the Federation of Electricity and Gas Operators in Belgium. In 2008, Daniel Dobbeni was appointed President of the European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity (ENTSO-E) for a two-year term of office. This network replaces the six existing associations of transmission system operators (UCTE, ETSO, NORDEL, BALTSO, UKTSOA and ATSO).
Mr Dobbeni holds a degree in Industrial Engineering, a diploma in Middle Management from the Vlerick Management School and a diploma from the General Management Programme at CEDEP in Fontainebleau, France.